YC Healthcare Scholarship Recipients

02 September 2014   Mike Lange
The 2014 Jewish Community Foundation healthcare scholarship recipients are, seated, from left: Starr Cecil, Jaime Quasula, Jenna Bourque, Bethany Sidebottom, Anna Alporque, Jennifer Beard; standing, from left: Joseph O’Reilly, Rebecca Brown Moore, Michelle Greaney, Karl Tenney, Katherine Haas, Paula Arellano, Heather Higgs, Edgar Vargas and Casey Higby. Photo courtesy of Bill Leyden
Yavapai College Announces 2014 Recipients of Healthcare Scholarships

Fifteen Yavapai College students from across Yavapai County have been awarded full tuition and fee scholarships for the College’s nursing or radiologic technology degree programs. The Jewish Community Foundation of Prescott funded 13 of the scholarships and the Margaret T. Morris Foundation funded two. The 2014 scholarship recipients are listed below.

The Jewish Community Foundation healthcare scholarship program with Yavapai College is a five-year initiative intended to address the expected shortage of healthcare professionals in coming years. Over the first three years of the program, scholarships have been awarded to 40 Yavapai College students in nursing and radiologic technology. The first cohort of scholarship recipients graduated in May 2014.

The scholarship program was introduced in 2012 with generous financial support from the Jewish Community Foundation. Overall, the JCF program will fund 96 full tuition and fee scholarships in the nursing and radiologic technology programs. The largest scholarship program in Yavapai College’s history, it’s designed to identify, support and train students who are committed to pursuing a healthcare career locally.

For more information, contact the Jewish Community Foundation of Greater Prescott at (928) 717-0016 or the Yavapai College Foundation at (928) 776-2025.

2014 Jewish Community Foundation healthcare scholarship recipients:


Anna Alporque, Prescott

Paula Arellano, Prescott Valley

Jennifer Beard, Prescott Valley

Jenna Bourque, Prescott

Starr Cecil, Camp Verde

Michelle Greaney, Prescott

Katherine Haas, Mayer

Heather Higgs, Prescott

Rebecca Brown Moore, Prescott

Jaimy Quasula, Clarkdale

Karl Tenney, Prescott

Bethany Sidebottom, Prescott

Radiologic Technology

Casey Higby, Chino Valley

Joseph O'Reilly Prescott

Edgar Vargas Prescott Valley