Yavapai College Paramedic Program Graduates 22

17 September 2014   Tim Diesch
Photo by Bill Leyden
Yavapai College Paramedic Program Produces 22 Graduates

The Yavapai College Paramedic Program will be graduating 22 students during a special ceremony this Saturday, September 20 at the Prescott Valley Civic Center, in the Council Chambers auditorium from 10:30 a.m. until noon. Yavapai College President Dr. Penny Wills will deliver the welcome speech.

The Paramedic Program at Yavapai College is a 14-month course that prepares students to perform as entry-level paramedics in Arizona and nationwide, and is the first step toward becoming an Emergency Medical Technician (EMT).

Yavapai College is one of only six community colleges in Arizona that is accredited to provide paramedic education by the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs (CAAHEP). Only students who have graduated from a school with this accreditation may proceed with the National Registry of EMT final exams, and thereby apply for their Arizona State certification as a paramedic.

The Program is widely supported by private ambulance, hospital, and public fire agencies throughout the county, with a large percentage of Yavapai College Paramedic Program applicants sponsored by those agencies.

This year’s graduates are as follows:

Cesar Arroyo, Prescott Valley

Jared Beard, Chino Valley

Austin Carmen, Prescott

Ryan Contreras, Cottonwood

Adam Croft, Prescott

Sierra Gibson, Camp Verde

Philip Graham, Cottonwood

Cody Harkey, Cottonwood

Matthew Hernandez, Prescott

Joshua Jensen, Prescott

Michael Kelly-Coplin, Rimrock

Jaron Kirk, Prescott Valley

Carlos Martinez, Jr., Prescott Valley

Michael McFadden, Prescott Valley

Craig Moore, Cornville

Jacob Pfeifer, Cottonwood

Kyle Runo, Prescott

Derek Sanders, Prescott Valley

Brett Smith, Prescott

Patrick Wiatrolick, Clarkdale

David Young, Cottonwood

Heather Zeller, Wickenburg

To learn more about the Paramedic Program at Yavapai College, visit www.yc.edu. Open registration for the Spring semester begins November 3. The regular Spring semester starts on January 12, 2015.