‘Best of the Best’ recognized at CTEC Evening of Recognition

26 April 2017   Jennifer McCormack
Scott Snyder, a retired US Navy Seal and YC Aviation Program student earned the President’s Award for Excellence.

Instructors at Yavapai College’s Career and Technical Education Center (CTEC) showered praise on their 15 top students of the year during an annual “Evening of Recognition” program April 21 at the YC Prescott campus.

In his opening remarks CTEC Dean John Morgan told family and friends of the honorees they were gathered to recognize “the best of the best” from multiple career-training programs. 

Topping the “best” list was Scott Snyder, a retired U.S. Navy Seal and current YC Aviation Program student. Snyder earned the President’s Award for Excellence for completing his flight requirements in record time and maintaining a 4.0 GPA. “His upbeat, positive attitude radiates throughout the flight department and students look up to Scott for leadership by example,” lead aviation faculty member Matt Mintzmeyer said of Snyder.

The CTEC Vice President’s Award for Excellence was bestowed on Terri Schuett, a YC agriculture technology student. YC Horticulture Professor Justin Brereton nominated Schuett for the award saying, “In my six years as faculty, I have never had a student so interested, caring and giving as Terri. She is truly like having another teacher in the program.”

Morgan and CTEC Associate Dean Karla Phillips singled out Brereton as “Outstanding Faculty” member for “going the extra mile” on behalf of YC, including steering the horticulture program to record growth, maintaining greenhouses in Chino Valley and the Verde Valley and for undertaking grant and outreach initiatives on his own.

Alex Barber was named outstanding adjunct faculty member of the year for his efforts on behalf of YC’s Unmanned Aircraft Systems (drones) program.

YC Recruiting staff members Chorissa Karstens, Brandi Fabian, Chelsie Klaine and Heather Mulcaire were honored for helping heighten awareness of training opportunities at CTEC among career-seekers of all ages.

Following is a list of additional CTEC Evening of Recognition outstanding student honorees:

Outstanding student in:

Animal Care and Management, Stephen Wopershall

Agribusiness Technology – Canine, Tori Heinonen

Production Horticulture, Benjamin Fry

Equine Practitioner, Annabeth Henagar

Electric Utility Lineman, Ryan Rozendaal

Applied Pre-Engineering, Alaina Rowitsch

Automotive Technology, Bryden Bryce

Automotive Body & Paint, Joel Martinez

Aviation, Dustin George

Computer Numerical Control, James Lopez

Diesel Technology, James Bradley

Electrical Instrumentation Technology, Scott Blakley Jr.

Gunsmithing Technology, Mark Manson

Industrial Machine Mechanic, William Lee

Welding Technology, Steven Foltin